Skip to Main Content

Japanese Digital Resources: Notable Japanese Collections in North America Dashboard

This guide is a directory of digital resources vendors and agents in Japan prepared by the Digital Resources Committee of the North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources, the NCC.

The "Notable Japanese Collections in North America" dashboard was developed by a subgroup of the Digital Resource Committee (DRC) of the North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources (NCC) to help identify and promote notable Japanese Studies collections held in North American libraries and other cultural institutions. Drawing on data originally compiled by NCC’s Cooperative Collection Development Working Group (CCDWG), this website takes steps towards building a comprehensive database that charts all print and digital materials including unprocessed or partially processed collections.

We define “notable collections” broadly as any distinctive or rare, archival or special collection (e.g. a very small set of archival papers, manuscripts, or ephemera; or even one rare or distinctive item that very few other institutions hold).  In addition, “notable collection” can include any large-scale, named or unnamed, collection of books, serials, music, art, and even special datasets and institutional digital exhibits. Finally, we also define the descriptor “Japanese Studies” broadly – as collections about Japan, made in Japan, or written/or recorded in the Japanese vernacular.  We include early missionary papers connected to Japan, as well as the Japanese diaspora in North America. We invite colleagues to help us identify and submit information about any of these types of materials in order to maximize the discoverability of unique Japanese sources across North America.  

 

Submission Form

To nominate similar collections that do not yet appear on the dashboard, or to edit information of existing collections, please use this button. 

Contact

  • Yukari Sugiyama
    Librarian for Discovery and Metadata Assessment, Yale University
  • Dr. Ann Marie Davis
    Associate Professor and Japanese Studies Librarian, The Ohio State University
  • Katherine Matsuura
    Japan Digital Scholarship Librarian, Harvard University

How to Use

  • Home: 

    This landing page contains a map that charts Japanese collections in North America and allows users to locate institutional holdings at a glance. When hovering over each of the red markers, a tooltip is displayed with corresponding institution names, addresses, and collections. For more detailed information about the collections or institutions, go to “Browse Collections” or “Directory” instead.

  • Collection Overview: 

    This page provides a quick overview of the various library collections covered in this database. The filtering buttons on the left allow users to create data visualizations based on language, access options, collection format, and time period. To clear all filters, use the reset button in the header. Each filter consists of one or more criteria, and multiple criteria can be combined.

  • Browse Collections: 

    This page provides more detailed information about each collection including collection names, formats, descriptions, languages, time periods, access options, holding institutions, and related URL addresses. Filter the collection by using the dropdown options within the categories at top . To clear all filters, use the reset button in the header. Again, multiple criteria can be combined.

  • Directory: 

    Please use this page to find the contact information for each of the collection’s holding institutions.

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster