Ohio State University: OSU Libraries

Named for the fifth president of the Ohio State University, the William Oxley Thompson Memorial Library serves as the main library for the Columbus campus of the university.

For more information on the Japanese collections, please contact Maureen Donovan at (614) 292-3502 or by email.

Chinese Studies Collections

East Asian Studies Resources

Japanese Collections

Japanese Studies Resources

Japanese Studies Wiki

Manga Collections

Rekion 

For all comments and questions about the Guide, please e-mail us:

mlaguide@nccjapan.net

Collection size: as of August 2014

The Ohio State University Libraries hold a total of approximately 16 million items, with some 1.5 million volumes held at the Thompson Library.

The East Asian collections are held within the Thompson Library, the Fine Arts Library, the book depository, and other locations throughout campus. All locations for individual items can be found within the OSU Library catalog.

Notable Collections:

• Japanese company histories: an extensive collection, developed since the mid-1980s.
• Japanese Naval Drawings and Notebooks: 19th century drawings and notes related to military technologies. Collection of 29 items (completely digitized).
• John B. Cornell collection: papers, field notes, source materials, photographs from John Bilheimer Cornell, 1921-1994 (American anthropologist).
• John W. Bennett collection: photographs, notebooks and primary source materials from John W. Bennett, 1915-2005 (American anthropologist). Memoir with selected photographs is online: Doing Photography and Social Research in the Allied Occupation of Japan, 1948-1951.
• Leon K. and Sadae Yamamoto Walters collection: Japanese and English works primarily focused on Okinawa and Japanese art.
• The Manga collections: Magazines, sugoroku, manga books published prior to 1990, original art, and translated manga are housed in the Billy Ireland Cartoon Library and Museum. A collection of original manga drawn by Tobita Tokio and Fujiki Fujio, inmates of Sugamo Prison during the US Occupation of Japan, is included. An index to Jiji Manga (1920-31) holdings is available online. Japanese language manga published from 1990 are generally included in the OSU Libraries circulating collections.
• Osamu Fujimura collection: works focusing on linguistics, speech, and hearing written in both English and Japanese.
• Toyo Suyemoto collection: papers and manuscripts from Toyo Suyemoto (1916-2003), a Japanese-American poet interned in Topaz during World War II.
• Yurii Kyogoku collection: Japanese works on Buddhism, philosophy, religion, and literature, many of which were collected by her father, Itsuzo Kyogoku, that were part of the Japanese library at Topaz.

URL and online catalog: library.osu.edu

Map

Circulating materials may be borrowed by those with an OSU ID card, an OSU Libraries Courtesy Card, or a valid ID from any other OhioLINK institution. For more information concerning the OSU Libraries Courtesy Card, please visit the Services for Non-OSU Patrons page.

Printing and photocopying is available at all libraries for $0.09 for black and white or $0.25 per color page. All printers and photocopiers require a BuckID, which may be picked up at a BuckID Deposit Station. The Billy Ireland Cartoon Library and Museum has a separate fee schedule for Research and Reproduction.