University of Pittsburgh: University of Pittsburgh Libraries

The University Library System is comprised of 15 libraries and is the 22nd-largest academic library system in North America. The Hillman Library, which is the largest library on the Pittsburgh campus, houses the East Asian Library.

For more information on the Japanese collection, please visit the East Asian Library website or contact Hiroyuki Good at (412) 648-8187 or by email.

To encourage use of the Mitsui Collection, the University's Asian Studies Center has established two annual “Norio Tamaki Grants” of $750 each to help defray the expenses for those visiting the University to use the collection. To apply for the awards, contact Dr. Brenda Jordan of the Asian Studies Center at 4400 W. W. Posvar Hall, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA 15260, 412-648-7763, jordanb@pitt.edu.

Free At Last?

Historic Pittsburgh

Subject Guides

For all comments and questions about the Guide, please e-mail us:

mlaguide@nccjapan.net

Collection size: as of June 2014 the libraries housed more than 4.5 million items, nearly 50,000 in Japanese. The University Library System supports the academic and research activities of the University of Pittsburgh. The East Asian Library collections are particularly strong in classics, history, religion, art, language, folk culture, literature, and contemporary China and Japan.

Notable Collections:

• Mitsui Collection: donated by the Institute for Economic and Financial Research of the former Mitsui Bank, the collection focuses on economic and financial history and theory.

URL: www.library.pitt.edu

Online catalog: http://pitt.summon.serialssolutions.com/#!/

Color woodblock prints by the Japanese artist Tsukioka Kōgyo (1869-1927) depict the Art of Noh through detailed portraits, landscapes and theatrical performances, taking into account some of Japan's rich history. Held by ULS Special Collections.

Woodblock prints from 1760-1956 by over 40 artists depict Japanese culture through detailed depictions of portraits, landscapes and theatrical performances, taking into account some of Japan's rich history. Held by ULS Special Collections.

It is a peer-reviewed annual publication on the history of business and manufacturing in Japan. We are especially interested in original research that utilities shashi, or methodological examinations of them.

D-Scribe is a digital collection of online journals, archives, and collections featuring research from the library's collections, as well as the University of Pittsburgh's academic faculty and staff.

The University Library System (ULS) at the University of Pittsburgh publishes more than 35 scholarly, peer-reviewed online journals. We publish with partners from the Pitt community as well as scholars from universities and scholarly societies around the world.

An institutional repository for the research output of the University of Pittsburgh, this includes research papers, published or unpublished, conference papers and presentations, supporting multimedia (audio, video, images, etc.), research data, electronic theses and dissertations, and more.

Directions and campus map

Floor plan

Borrowing privileges are restricted to active faculty, staff, and students, as well as those students and faculty at certain affiliates. For a list of affiliated schools, please see this page. All others may purchase a one-year Special Borrower's card from a full-time circulation staff member for $100. Please note: a Special Borrower's card does not grant access to digital resources restricted to University of Pittsburgh affiliates.