LibGuides: University of California Berkeley: UC Berkeley Library System

General Information

Facility:	University of California at Berkeley Library System
Address:	Various
Phone:	(510) 642-6657
FAX:	N/A
Email:	Click here to email the UC Berkeley library system

About the library system:

The University of California Berkeley Libraries is a system of 27 libraries, with the Doe Library, Moffitt Library, Bancroft Library, and East Asia Library, with 13 other subject specialty libraries. There are also 10 "affiliated libraries," which contain specialized research collections unique to their fields and often to their libraries.

Hours

Resource & Facilities

Databases

Japanese Databases
A list of Japanese-language databases subscribed to by the University of California Berkeley. Please note: these databases require on-site access from the Berkeley campus.
The Online Archives of California
The OAC provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more that 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums through California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses. Search the OAC for images and documents about Japanese-American history in California.

Online Resources

East Asia Resource Guides
Research guides developed by UC Berkeley faculty and staff to assist in China-, Japan-, or Korea-focused research, including English-language based resources.
Research Help
The University of California Berkeley Libraries offer research help in person, over the phone, and through email. In person, they offer liaison librarians in addition to the reference desk, and research appointments.
Research 101
This guide offers instruction on a variety of topics, including use of the UC Berkeley OPAC, citation styles, finding reliable information on the Internet, evaluating resources, and discovering primary sources for research.

Summary of Collections

Collection size: as of July 2014 the UC Berkeley libraries contained over 1.1 million volumes in Asian languages of which 408,000 are Japanesae. The combined collections contain more than 17.8 million items. As a system of nearly 30 distinct libraries, the UC Berkeley Library System is a wide-ranging, interdisciplinary collection of academic support for education and research within its varied fields.

Notable collections:

Asian Studies Collection: a collection intended to supplement the East Asian and South/Southeast Asian Libraries, the Asian Studies Collection is home to the Group in Asian Studies, an interdisciplinary undergradutae and graduate program engaged in teaching and research about Asia.
The Bancroft Library: the main repository for the special collections of the UC Berkeley Library system, Bancroft holds several well-known collections, including Latin Americana, History of Science & Technology, Rare Books Collection (including texts in East Asian languages), the University Archives, and several digital collections.
The Doe Library and the Moffitt Library: the main libraries for the University of California Berkeley Library System, they offer collections in art history, asian studies, international organizations, history, linguistics, political science, and much more.

Other Programs and Collections of Interest

The Japanese American Evacuation and Resettlement Digital Archive
A collection of over 100,000 original manuscript items from the Japanese American Evacuation and Resettlement Study, this digital archive includes searching and browsing capabilities, as well as GIS data about the confinement sites. It is based in the Bancroft Library at the University of California Berkeley
War Relocation Authority Photographs of Japanese-American Evacuation and Resettlement
An online archive of 6,833 photos and documents. The War Relocation Authority (WRA) records represent the official documentation of the United States agency created to assume jurisdiction over the Japanese and Japanese Americans evacuated from California, Oregon, and Washington by the Western Defense Command, the Fourth Army, and the Wartime Civilian Control Administration (WCCA) during January/February of 1942. During its existence from March 1942 to 1946, the WRA controlled the administration of the relocation centers, administered an extensive resettlement program, and oversaw the details of the registration and segregation programs. Included in their records are administrative files, official publications, reports and surveys, legal papers, correspondence, and photographs and scrapbooks.

Access

View Larger Map

How to Use the Facility

Library Visitor Information Guide
The library is open to public access, and most collections may be used on site. Site offers information for guests including location, parking and available services for visitors.
Borrowing Privileges
Non-UC Berkely patrons have options for borrowing that depend on their circumstances. See site for a complete explanation of borrowing privileges including user types, applications, fees, and checkout information. Application may be made in person or online.
Printing and Scanning Services
All printing from a BookScan or public workstation in the UC Berkeley libraries must be paid for using the Cal 1 Card. Visitors may request a Cal 1 Card from the Moffitt Copy Center or from a public service desk in a library. Costs vary depending on the size and type of material. Please see site for details.

Give Us Your Feedback

For all comments and questions about the Guide, please e-mail us:

mlaguide@nccjapan.net