|Facility:||Charles Trumbull Hayden Library|
|Address:||300 E Orange Mall
Tempe, AZ 85281
|Hours:||Hours of Operation|
Built in 1966, the Charles Trumbull Hayden Library serves as the main library for Arizona State University on its Tempe campus. It is named after the founder of Tempe, Charles Trumbull Hayden, who also served as the first president of the board of the Arizona Territorial Normal School, the first name Arizona State University operated under.
For more information concerning the Japanese collections, please contact Ralph Gabbard at (480) 965-0620 or via email.
The Hayden Library is open to the public during certain hours. However, borrowing privileges are restricted to faculty, staff, and students. Legal residents of the state of Arizona over the age of 21 may purchase a community borrower's card for a fee. For more information, please visit their Community Borrower Loan Policy page.
Collection size: as of 2014 the collections of the Charles Hayden Library totaled about 145,000 volumes of which 25,300 are in Japanese. Hayden Library is the main library for the Tempe campus of Arizona State University. Its collections focus on the humanities and social sciences, including business and education. It is also the home of many of the special collections kept by the university.
Some Japanese materials are held in the library's Special Collections, which are available in the Luhrs Reading Room on the fourth floor of the Hayden Library.
A small amount of Japanese art objects are also available through the university's Art Museum. Please visit their website for more information.
Arizona Archives Online (AAO) is an online database bringing together archival collections from across Arizona. Many of these collections touch on Japanese studies, including documentation of the Japanese American internment camps that occurred within the state.
Online study guides developed by the academic staff at the Hayden Library for topics within the Asian Studies program.
An online database of creative and scholarly works created by faculty and academic staff at Arizona State University. The digital repository is open to public use, although individual files may be restricted.