|Facility:||Honolulu Museum of Art|
|Address:||900 S. Beretania
Honolulu HI 96814
|Hours:||Hours of Operation|
Founded in 1927 by Anna Rice Cooke, the Honolulu Museum of Art was originally based on the Cookes' art collection. It has expanded considerably since its opening on the Cookes' own property, and now includes a theater, several galleries, and programs at several other locations.
For more information concerning the Japanese collections, please contact Shawn Eichman at (808) 532-8710 or by email.
Database of digitized items from the museum's permanent collections. Digitized items are separated by collection and historical period of origin, and are searchable.
Digital representations of each collection at the museum, including brief descriptions and sample images of items in each collection.
Collection size: as of October 2014
The Honolulu Museum of Art has a permanent collections size of 50,000 items. Of these, approximately 23,000 belong to the Asian art collections. Items date from ancient times to the 21st century, approximating 5,000 years of Hawaiian cultural history.
One notable collection at the Honolulu Museum of Art is their collection of 10,000-12,000 Japanese ukiyo-e woodblock prints, approximately half of which were donated by James A. and Mari Michener.
The Honolulu Museum of Art is open six days a week, with $10 admission for adults. Members of the museum gain free admission. There are several holidays during which admission is free.
Reproduction requests should be submitted using the application for reproduction permission, available on the museum's Rights & Reproductions page. Questions can be submitted by email.