Skip to main content

Princeton University: Princeton University Art Museum

Research access guide for Princeton University.

General Information

Facility: Princeton University Art Museum
Address: Princeton University Campus
Princeton, NJ 08544
Phone: (609) 258-3788
FAX: N/A
Email: email
Hours: Hours of Operation

About the Museum:

With origins dating back to the 1750s, Princeton University Art Museum is one of the oldest collecting institutions in America. The museum was officially founded in 1882, with Asian collections beginning in the 1930s.

For more information on the Japanese collections, please contact Cary Liu at (609) 258-5466 or by email.

Summary of Collections

Collection size: as of September 2014

The Princeton University Art Museum includes over 92,000 objects focused on Western Europe, East Asia, the United States, and Latin America.

The Asian Collection at the museum is comprised of over 6,000 objects from China, Japan, Korea, Southeast and Central Asia, and India. Objects date from the Neolithic period to the present day, with a focus on pottery in various mediums, sculpture, woodblock prints, painting, and calligraphy.

URL: artmuseum.princeton.edu

Online catalog: artmuseum.princeton.edu/search/collections

Databases

A selection of objects from the museum's Asian collection presented digitally alongside curatorial and scholarly annotations.

Online collection of objects within the Asian Art Collection with accompanying basic information.

A database of objects from the museum's collections, displayed with information. Some information has not been verified by a curator.

How to Use the Facility

The Princeton University Museum website does not give information concerning visiting scholars using their collections. Instead, they support emphasize the ability to access many of the items held at the museum via their collections database, and the Handbook of Collections published in 2013.

Give Us Your Feedback

For all comments and questions about the Guide, please e-mail us:

MLAGuide@nccjapan.net

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster