|Facility:||University of Maryland Theodore R. McKeldin Library|
35 Campus Drive
Campus Park, MD 20742
|Schedule:||Hours of operation|
The University of Maryland is supported by eight libraries, including the Theodore R. McKeldin Library. Constructed in 1958, it is named after the former governor of Maryland, Theodore McKeldin. It is seven stories tall, and includes two wings. It is the main library for the College Park campus, and also includes the East Asia Collection.The Gordon W. Prange Collection is Maryland's most stellar collection.
For more information on the Japanese collection, please contact Yukako Tatsumi at (301) 314-1768 or via email. Travel grants are also available to use the collections.
Collection size: as of April 2014 the library contained over 2.4 million items of which more htan 250,000 are in Japanese. The Theodore R. McKeldin Library is the main library for the University of Maryland at College Park, and houses its general collections, as well as the Government Information, Maps, and GIS Services, East Asia Collections, periodicals, and microforms.
Online catalog: http://umaryland.worldcat.org/
A database of digital collections available at the University of Maryland. They can be browsed by subject or collection, and can also be searched.
The Digital Repository at the University of Maryland allows faculty at UMD to make digital works permanently accessible and available across the internet.
The Special Collections website includes digitized materials from the archives of the University of Maryland, as well as finding-aids and other resources.
Access to the University of Maryland Libraries is limited to those with one of several types of UMD library cards. Cards vary in price and eligibility. For more information, please visit the Access to Collections & Facilities page.
Photocopying and printing costs 10 cents per black-and-white page, or 50 cents per color page. High-quality, color scanning is free at all libraries. For more information, please visit their Copy, Print, and Scan page.