Skip to main content

University of Kansas: Watson Library

General Information

Facility: University of Kansas Watson Library
Address:
1425 Jayhawk Boulevard
Lawrence, KS 66045
Phone: (785) 864-8983
FAX: N/A
Email: email
Schedule: Hours of operation

 

About the library:

Watson Library, the oldest library at the University of Kansas, houses collections in the social sciences, humanities, education, journalism, and social welfare. These include all international area studies collections, such as the East Asian collection, African collection, Slavic and Eurasian collection, and more.

For more information about the Japanese collection, please contact Michiko Ito at (785) 864-4669 or by email.

The East Asian collection in the Watson Library provides travel grants to researchers using the collections. For more information, please visit their East Asian Travel Grant page.

Databases

Access to the GIS data at University of Kansas, as well as expert assistance from KU Libraries staff.

Digital collection of items from the Onitsha Market Literature collection, comprised of stories, plays, advice and moral discourses published primarily in the 1960s by local presses in the lively market town of Onitsha, an important commercial site in the Igbo-speaking region of southeastern Nigeria.

The images digitized by the University of Kansas are organized into multiple online collections, all of which are accessible from this page.

Containing work created by University of Kansas faculty, staff, and students, this digital repository also includes material from the University Archives.

The T.R. Smith Map Collection includes over 440,000 paper maps and air photographs, covering all areas of the world. Portions of the collection have been digitized and are accessible online.

Summary of Collections

Collection size: as of March 2014 the library contained over 4.2 million volumes of which some 92,000 items are in Japanese.  The Watson Library collections focus primarily on the social sciences and humanities, including philosophy, religion, history, anthropology, recreation, political science, sociology, social welfare, languages & literature, and military sciences.

URL: http://lib.ku.edu/

Online catalog: http://catalog.lib.ku.edu/

Online Resources

A complete list of the subject guides created by University of Kansas Libraries faculty and academic staff, including for Japanese and East Asian studies.

A floor map, stacks map, and list of call numbers and locations for the Watson Library.

A floor map of the Watson Library centering on the East Asian collection's locations.

An online guide intended to aid research on the history, traditions, and culture of Japanese sake.

How to Use the Facility

Use of the Collections

While the University of Kansas libraries are freely accessible, use of certain library services are restricted to University of Kansas faculty, staff, students, and affiliates. For information on specific services and their use, please see their Libraries Services webpage.

Give Us Your Feedback

For all comments and questions about the Guide, please e-mail us:

MLAGuide@nccjapan.net

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster