Skip to main content

Columbia University: Columbia University Library

General Information

Facility: Columbia University Library
Address: 535 West 114th St., New York, NY 10027
Phone: (212) 854-7309
FAX: (212) 854-9099
Email: N/A
Hours: Hours of operation

About the library:

The Columbia University Libraries consist of 22 libraries, including affiliates. The Library integrates research library functions with key elements of academic technology services. CLIO, the Library's OPAC, provides access to the full catalog.

Databases

The Columbia University Libraries provide access to over 1,500 databases, including many pertinent to Japan-related research and approximately ten Japanese-language databases.

Please note: the majority of these databases require the user to either be present on the Columbia University campus, or to log in with a user ID and password provided by Columbia University.

Originating from several institutions both in America and Japan, the Global Performing Arts Consortium was created in 1997 by Karen Brazell to utilize new technologies to provide global access to a wide range of diverse performing arts. With a background in Japan-related research, Brazell's emphasis for the database was primarily Japanese peforming arts. American, Chinese, and Russian performing arts are also represented in the database.

GloPAD, the consortium's database, includes multilingual authority records, digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and complex media objects, all related to the international performing arts.

Give Us Your Feedback

For all comments and questions about the Guide, please e-mail us:

MLAGuide@nccjapan.net

Summary of Collections

Collection size: as of January 2014 the Columbia Libraries held over 11.7 milliion items of which over 172,000 are in Japanese. The Columbia University Library supports the students, faculty, staff, and researchers at CU, and therefore holds a highly interdisciplinary collection.

URL: http://library.columbia.edu/

Online catalog: http://clio.columbia.edu/

Online Resources

The research guides developed by Columbia University faculty and staff are organized by subject area, and include music subject guides, religious studies, south & southeast asian studies research guides, and more.

The Columbia University Libraries supports and promotes multiple online research tools related to bibliographic management, online searching, and browser plugins. Many of these are usable not only at Columbia University, but also in general.

Columbia University Libraries offer access to spatial and numeric data collections, including collections in economics, health, and international data.

How to Use the Facility

Access to the Columbia University Libraries may be free for alumni, students and faculty from SHARES institutions, and faculty from other universities. For non-affiliated patrons, reading privileges may be purchased for $55 per month, and borrowing privileges may be purchased for $100 per month. For more information, please see the Access for Alumni and Visitors webpage.

Digitization and Copying Services

The Preservation and Digital Conversion Division provides all patrons with reproductions. Self-service photocopiers and printers are also available, payable with a Flex Card, which can be purchased by visitors at the Flex Value Transfer Station (VTS) vending machines located in Avery Library, Barnard College Library, the Business Library, Butler Library, Lehman Library, and Teacher's College Library.

A black-and-white photocopy is $0.10 per letter-sized page, or $0.20 per 11x17 page. Color photocopying is $0.50 per letter-sized page, or $2.00 per 11x17 page. More information on self-service printing and photocopying can be found at the Printing and Photocopying Services webpage.

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster