Kristina Troost, PhD
Course: Research Methods in Japanese Studies, 2005 Spring,
Full-text Yomiuri newspaper from 1984 to the present. On trial till March.
Newspaper information on CDs
The East Asian Collection has the following newspapers on CD.
- Nihon nishikie shinbun shūsei -- Includes approximately 800 color images from 31 newspapers in a searchable database. Late Bakumatsu - early Meiji
- Yomiuri shinbun: Meiji, Taisho, Showa senzen (sengo is coming)
- Asahi shinbun sengo midashi detabesu (1945-1999)
Print Newspaper Sources
Japanese Newspaper Collections
- Meiji nyūsu jiten. 明治ニュース事典
- Taishō nyūsu jiten. 大正ニュース事典
- Shōwa nyūsu jiten. 昭和ニュース事典。
- Gaikoku shinbun ni miru Nihon : kokusai nyūsu jiten 外国新聞に見る日本 : 国際ニュース事典
- Gogai Meiji Shi 1868 1912
- Gogai Taisho Shi 1912 1926
- Gogai Showa Shi 1926-1935
- Gogai Showa shi 1936 1945
- Gogai sengoshi
Collections of Newspaper Clippings from Current Newspapers
- Gekkan josei jōhō 月刊女性情報; Duke has 1993-to date
Reprints of newspaper articles classified by such topics as feminism, sexuality, labor, politics, management, aging society, children, culture sports. Each issue covers one month
- Shinbun daijesuto 新聞ダイジェスト; Duke has 1996 to date
Reprints of articles from the Asahi, Nikkei, Mainichi and Yomiuri organized by subject. Includes a summary of important events by day and important issues in a given month; also includes occasional editorials. Occasional special issues on one topic.
Compilations of Newspaper Clippings
- Shinbun shūsei Meiji hennenshi. 新聞集成明治編年史。
- Shinbun shūsei Shōwa hennenshi. 新聞集成昭和編年史
Newspaper Indexes and Yearbooks
- Asahi shinbun kiji soran 朝日新聞記事総覧 refers to pages in Shukusatsuban
- Asahi shinbun shukusatsuban 朝日新聞縮刷版-- has an index at the beginning of each month
- Asahi nenkan. 朝日年鑑.