LibGuides: Duke University: Lilly Library

General Information

Facility:	Duke University Lilly Library
Address:	1348 Campus Drive Durham, NC 27708
Phone:	(919) 660-5995
FAX:	N/A
Email:	lilly-requests@duke.edu

About the library:

The Lilly Library is on the Duke University East Campus, the original campus at Duke University. The East Campus is home to several major academic programs, as well as Duke's first-year students.

Hours

Program of Interest

Friends of the Duke University Libraries
Founded in 1930 by William K. Boyd, the Friends of the Duke University Libraries are dedicated to supporting and promoting library services.
An annual donation of $50 provides membership, while an annual donation of $100 allows borrowing privileges.
Borrowing Privileges for Friends of the Duke University Libraries
Print materials only, no audio-visual or off-campus database access. See website for more details

Research Collections and Facilities

Give Us Your Feedback

For all comments and questions about the Guide, please e-mail us:

mlaguide@nccjapan.net

Summary of Collections

Collection size: as of March 2014 the library contained about 160,000 items, 2,400 of which are in Japanese. Of the library's 22,000 audiovisual materials, approximately 1,400 are in Japanese. Lilly Library's collections focus primarily on art, current literature, film, dance, images, and philosophy.

Online Resources

Research Guides
Research guides developed by Duke University faculty and staff, including Asian studies, foreign language learning, business, history, sciences, and more.
Japanese Studies Guide
A subject gateway with information on research, databases, statistics, GIS information, primary sources, learning the Japanese language, and more.

Access

Directions

View Larger Map

How to Use the Facility

Borrowing Privileges
While the library collections are freely accessible to the public, borrowing is restricted to: Duke faculty, staff, and students; faculty, staff, and students of the Triangle Research Library Network; spouses and domestic partners, emeritus faculty; retired staff; visiting faculty and scholars; Duke alumni; and Friends of the Duke University Libraries. For more information about how to become a Friend, please visit their website.
Photocopying
Photocopiers are available for general use in all libraries. These accept primarily either a DukeCard or white library copy card as payment. White library copy cards can be purchased from Value Transfer Station kiosks located in most libraries. Copies cost $0.07 per page. Some copiers in some libraries will accept quarters as well. Copies paid for in cash cost $0.10 per page.